5 Simple Ways I Stay Fit At Work.

First, I must say that I really gave my arms a workout yesterday. This week I’m creating a daily fitness plan, goal specific workouts for each day I hit the gym. While I’m still tweaking the plan, I focused on my arms and shoulders during my strength training session yesterday. Because of that great workout out, my body was already a little sore when I went to Zumba. At this point in my life, Zumba is not the workout I benefit most from. I consider it a great way to move after a long day and a great way to connect with people at work, outside of the office setting.

While I love where I work and what I do, I have a typical “desk job”. It would be easy to get caught up in a routine of walking in the office and sitting for 8 hours. But I prefer moving around much more than I do sitting. So, how does one passionate about healthy living  make fitness a priority while at the office? Simple…I modify my work space and my day to accommodate the healthy life I want to live. Here’s how I stay fit and on track during my work day:

1.) I’ve designed my space and coordinated my schedule to make sure my fitness is maintained while on the  job. While I don’t have a standing treadmill in my office (I’m envious of Lindsay’s @ the Lean Green Bean blog), I have propped up my computer and keyboard to allow me to stand. I’ve read in numerous places that you burn twice the amount of calories standing than you do sitting because your body is constantly engaging your muscles and core to provide proper balance. I also read that if you stand for 10 minutes out of every work hour, you will end up burning about 100 calories each day (source).

2.) I keep a water bottle on my desk to remain hydrated throughout the day. I try my hardest to refill it at least once while at work. I also have green tea to keep my energy and my metabolism up. While I occasionally enjoy a cup of coffee at home in the mornings, I try to limit the amount of coffee I drink while I’m at work to limit my caffeine intake.

3.) I designate at least half of my lunch hour for working out. There is a small gym down the street that I can walk to easily. Because it is owned by my work, there’s only a tiny monthly fee for employees to use it.  To avoid getting sweaty, I strength tone during this time. My membership in this gym includes group classes that are offered at different points of the day. I take advantage of Zumba after work on Monday’s and Wednesdays. Zumba is a fun way to get moving after a long day at work.

I come to work dressed like the left photo and change midday for a quick workout during lunch. I’m thankful for an office with a door:

   

4.) I bring my own homemade lunches to work every day. This way I can control the ingredients and monitor the nutrients I am taking in. Additionally, brown bagging my lunch saves me money. (I consider being financially wise a large part of healthy living.)

5.) I use the free application FitBolt on my computer. This application gives you an activity every half hour to get you moving. These include a mix of stretches and exercises that can be performed in a small office.

Those are just five simple ways I stay fit while at the office. By the way, some of you have asked about FitFluential. I’m now an Ambassador, and I couldn’t be more excited about this opportunity. FitFluential is a unique network of fitness and health bloggers who share their fitness journeys and influence others toward healthy living. You can join and follow fitness happenings here. I’m off to enjoy another day of work, beginning with an early meeting.

Wishing you all the best. katie

QUESTIONS OF THE DAY
How do you maintain fitness while at work?
What are your favorite on-the-job fitness tips?

(LEAVE A COMMENT: I’d love to hear from you! To comment click on the comment/dialogue box at the top of this post. Or visit my Contact Me page. You’ll find information  on following me on Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest and more.) 

13 thoughts on “5 Simple Ways I Stay Fit At Work.

  1. I am a teacher, and I try to get as much walking around the room as I can. Some days I wear my tennis shoes to work and make sure I am non-stop walking. Also, like you, I pack my lunch every day. It saves lots of money and I have control over what I eat.

  2. Great set of tips here! I always always keep water with me, like you said, and try to drink and refill it regularly. Getting up and walking around helps, too. Thanks for introducing us to the FitBolt app — definitely going to give it a try! “Time Out” is another great one that you can set a time frame (sit 50, take a 10 min break, for example) to remind yourself to get up and move. It dims your computer screen for the designated time.

  3. Great tips! Sadly I don’t have my own office – we work in an open office environment – but I’m thinking of bringing in a stability ball to sit on instead of my desk chair. I’ve read good things about it strengthening your core and engaging more muscles than when you’re just sitting in a regular office chair. Have you ever tried this? And HYDRATION is definitely key 🙂 Thanks!!

    • I have tried it before, but I personally find myself slouching. But that’s simply me. The key is that the stability ball makes you focus on not slouching. Let me know what you think. Wishing you the best!

  4. Thanks for letting us know about FitBolt! I love tech-y things! Looks like a lot of us are checking it out! And yes, water! I am so much better about drinking water at work. Added bonus… the more you drink, the more you have to get up to refill and the more you have to go to the ladies room! 😉 Oh and, yay for becoming a FitFluential ambassador!

    • Thanks for the congrats! I’m excited about this opportunity. You made me chuckle about the water, but you’re right. It does make me walk down the hall for the ladies room. Wishing you the best!

Leave a Reply

