Home & Happy.

I’m back home! Isn’t it funny how even though you grow up and move to your own little place in the world, perhaps in a different city or state, “home” is always where you grew up? I have been looking forward to being home for this special Mother’s Day weekend for several weeks now. As I mentioned on Wednesday, my parents are really amazing people. Though my parents will always be “Mom” and “Dad”, I’m realizing I’m at a point in my life where I begin to view both of them as great friends, too.

The drive wasn’t bad at all. It’s about 2.5 to 3 hours to get back to home. Since I was driving during my afternoon snack time, I enjoyed a delicious Apple Pie Larabar. These things are really delicious. I appreciate and support a company who uses whole, natural ingredients in their products. I can have a safe, delicious, nutritious and unprocessed snack that’s convenient to eat on the run. This is how Larabar describes this bar on their website: “Just like Grandma’s and under 200 calories, this Apple Pie provides 1 full serving of fruit and 5 grams of fiber. Not too sweet, and spiced with cinnamon and raisins, Apple Pie also has almonds, walnuts and natural chewy goodness.” So good.

Please note, my car was parked when I took this shot.

Before heading home yesterday afternoon, I managed to get a great workout in during my office lunch hour, focusing on my legs. My Sumo Squats improved by increasing my free weights from 12.5lbs to 15lbs. I’ve played with this weight a bit before by trying one set of sumo squats with 12.5lbs, the middle set with 15lbs, and then finishing with 12.5 again. But this time, I did 15lbs for each set. I’ll take and celebrate this little victory! I also finally increased my hammer curl to press weight from 10lbs. to 12.5lbs for each set. While it’s not much, it’s definitely improvement and I like to see my fitness goals improving!

When I arrived home, we decided to go out to dinner to a little Chinese buffet just outside of town. I was able to stay on the healthy side of things with a plate full of shrimp (which needed peeling, so it slowed my eating down), salad without dressing, sushi – though it was spicy and I didn’t eat much of it, and honeydew melon. I also had a small serving a vanilla soft serve ice cream. After dinner, Dad dropped Mom and I off at the grocery to shop for my healthy grocery list. We bought the ingredients to make Salsa Lime Tofu and we’ll be making that tonight for dinner. I’ll be curious to know if my Dad will enjoy it…at least he’s willing to give it a try!

Because I’m not sure when I’d be able to exercise today, I got up around 5:30AM to go on a walk around town. Mom joined me and it felt great starting my day off by making fitness a priority. The best part of the walk, of course, was the company. Walking with Mom allowed the time to pass quickly and made the walk more enjoyable. Want to see a funny thing about this morning’s walk? I didn’t pack clothes suitable for the chilly morning, so I had to borrow some sweats that didn’t quite fit…

Anyway, I’m taking my Mom out later this morning to a coffee spot just outside of town that will be new for both of us to try. I thought we’d celebrate Mother’s Day one day early. We have the best time sharing about life over a cup of coffee and a scone. Many good tears have been part of our coffee dates. I’m looking forward to trying a new place, but most of all, I’m looking forward to spending this treasured time with Mom. I’ll report back with a review on the coffee shop later.

But first, I’m about to head to the kitchen and whip up a healthy omelet for Dad and me to enjoy for breakfast.

I hope you have a great Saturday ahead of you! Wishing you the best. katie

QUESTIONS OF THE DAY:
What’s one of your favorite on-the-road snacks?
How are you celebrating Mother’s Day weekend? 

(LEAVE A COMMENT: I’d love to hear from you! To comment click on the comment/dialogue box at the top of this post. Or visit my Contact Me page. You’ll find information  on following me on Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest and more.) 

One thought on “Home & Happy.

  1. Favorite on the road snacks: nuts, mini babybel cheeses or a banana. Since both of our parents live much farther from us, we celebrate by giving them a loving call. 😉

Leave a Reply

