Travel | The Weekend Survival Food List.

I’ll be heading home for Mother’s Day to celebrate the weekend with my Mom and Dad. I’m looking forward to spending time with my parents where I grew up.

Mom and Dad are the most giving people I know. They have such a heart for giving to others. Dad serves in several roles in the church and Mom is always volunteering her time to the church and community. Mom even has a blanket ministry. She knits and sews blankets to give to those who are in need, who are hurting or who are going through a rough time and need to be wrapped in a blanket of love. Mom and Dad give without expecting anything in return. This is why I enjoy being with them. They are filled with life and being with them challenges me and inspires me toward wanting to become a better person.

Mom knows that I’ve really changed the way  I eat this past year. And while I’ll only be home for a couple days, she asked me to provide her with a grocery shopping list to make sure she had some things on hand that I could eat. That meant a lot to me that she would make that offer. It makes staying healthy while traveling much easier.

Because my parent’s taste and my taste for food differ, I don’t want to provide a lengthy list of food that might simply go bad in their fridge. So here’s a list of food that can keep me on track for a few days away from:

  • 2-4 containers of Chobani Greek Yogurt – Strawberry Banana, my favorite healthy dessert or snack
  • Organic Spinach
  • Blueberries
  • Low Sugar Oatmeal – Quaker Weight Control or Kroger Brand Active Lifestyle (Maple Brown Sugar Pecan)
  • Eggs
  • 1 packet of low sodium tuna or salmon- Per last week’s Food Friday Refine, keeping my protein grams between 90 to 100 is my daily goal. This helps me stay on track.
  • Ingredients for Salsa Lime Tofu – I asked my mom if I could make dinner for my parents this weekend. I want to introduce them to some healthy tofu, so I’m going to make them my recipe.

I think this is all I need to maintain a healthy diet while I’m away. Though home cooking is the surest way to maintain control over what I eat, I know I’ll have a meal or two out. I can’t go a weekend with Mom without going to a coffee shop! Mom – if you’re reading, stop here now – I want to take Mom out for a special Mother’s Day treat on Saturday. I won’t reveal anything further…

I hope you all have a great Wednesday ahead of you! Wishing you the best. katie

QUESTIONS OF THE DAY
What would you include on your short list of health foods to have when you’re away from home?Do you have key foods that keep you on your health track? 

4 thoughts on “Travel | The Weekend Survival Food List.

  1. When we are traveling, whether it be by plane or by car, I like to have for snacks: nuts (put in snack bags 100 calories each), babybel cheeses, fiber one 90 brownies, and bananas. It’s a good mix for different cravings and they all keep pretty well.

  2. Carrie, those are some really great ideas. I think you made a great point by mixing it up and having variety to satisfy all of the cravings that hit us. And those are healthy options. Thanks for sharing! Wishing you the best. katie

  3. Great adds to the list! I, too, LOVE bananas and I can’t get enough of Peanut Butter. I’ve been wondering about PB2. How do you personally use/cook with PB2? Smoothies?

Leave a Reply

