Lex Eats | The Corner Cafe

You know I love smoothies. I have one nearly everyday.

There’s this little cafe in Lexington, Kentucky that opened about a year and half ago called The Corner Cafe (and yes, it’s literally on a corner). I pass it nearly every evening on my drive home from work and I’ve always wanted to give it a try. Numerous times I’ve been stopped at a red light outside of the cafe, and I’ve read through their advertised menu: smoothies, lattes and wraps. I finally gave it a go and pulled into their parking lot on the corner yesterday afternoon. If you frequent my blog, you know I love making protein packed smoothies. I consider mine pretty great, so I was taking a risk trying someone else’s creation…

And WOW! I was thoroughly and pleasantly impressed with this little cafe. Immediately walking in the front door, you will notice there’s something different about this place. It’s not your typical Jamba Juice or Tropical Smoothie pretending to be healthy yet offering menu items loaded with added syrups and sugar or only traces of actual fruit. No, it’s not that at all and I am relieved by the difference. Instead, The Corner Cafe promotes health from its core. The decor is a composed of a cool slate grey and black color palate, seemingly minimalistic. While the menu has several options that include smoothies, lattes and wraps, the true speciality is the smoothie selection. Rich Vaux, the owner, suggested that I try the #12 (Banana Raspberry Blueberry Smoothie). It’s much different from the typical green smoothie I make at home.

The #12: Banana, Raspberry, Blueberry Smoothie. Ingredients: Banana, Raspberry, Blueberry, Whey Protein Powder and Multi Vitamin Supplement

Friends, let me tell you that this smoothie was delicious. It wasn’t overly sweet. As a person interested in nutrition, I appreciate that there was no added sugar or syrups. What truly sets this place apart from all of the “trendy” smoothie joints is The Corner Cafe’s attention to  health and nutrition. My monster of a smoothie (24 ounces) was packed with 24 grams of protein and was only 290 calories. With all of the smoothies choices on the menu, customers have the option of adding in a supplement like weight loss, fiber, energy or vitamin. I chose the multi vitamin.

This #12 was very filling. Usually I get the “munchies” in the afternoon, but this smoothie stayed with me all evening long. And while I didn’t choose the energy supplement, this meal replacement gave me quite an energy boost, too. If I ever need a boost to get me through a slump in my work day, I’ll remember The Corner Cafe.

I enjoyed talking with Rich, the owner of The Corner Cafe, about health and nutrition. Though he claimed not to be an expert, his personal study and interest in health matters provided for great conversation and he offered helpful insight on overall fitness. Thinking about stopping in? The cafe offers free wi-fi, so feel free to bring a laptop and stay for a while. (I think I may write some future blog posts from this place.) Another cafe perk includes a frequent reward card where, if you buy 7 smoothies you get the 8th one for free. If you’re on Twitter or Facebook, look for The Corner Cafe’s special deals. When I stopped by yesterday, The Corner Cafe tweeted a limited time smoothie deal of $3.99 for any smoothie, regularly $5.39. Additionally, if you appreciate mixed media artwork, pieces by Keith Linton of Louisville, Kentucky are on display and available for purchase. You have to stop in to The Corner Cafe if only just to see this unique artwork.

One down, six more to go until my Free Smoothie!

Final Thoughts: The Corner Cafe is NOT your typical fad “diet” smoothie joint. The owner genuinely cares about promoting and providing healthy options for his customers. If you’re looking for an over the top, extra sweet, “fruity” drink, this isn’t the place for you. BUT, if you’re looking for a healthy, delicious and nutritious, good for your body meal replacement/recovery drink that’s made with REAL fruit, no added sugar or syrups, is very filling and is local, try The Corner Cafe. You don’t know what you’re missing, but I do. I’m already looking forward to my next visit.

While other options are offered on the menu, from wraps to lattes, a smoothie is a must try at this location.

The Corner Cafe is located at 384 S. Mill Street #125, Lexington, KY. They are open Monday & Wednesday 8:30AM – 8PM, Tuesday, Thursday & Friday 8:30AM to 6PM, and Saturday 11AM to 4PM. Find them on Twitter @The_Corner_Cafe or on Facebook.

Wishing you the best. katie

*A special “thank you” to Rich Vaux for allowing me to come review The Corner Cafe. It truly was a pleasure and the smoothie provided was the best I’ve tasted in Lexington. Wishing you lots of success in all you do and I’ll stop in again soon.

QUESTION OF THE DAY:

Have you tried The Corner Cafe? Leave your review in our comment section.

(LEAVE A COMMENT: I’d love to hear from you! To comment click on the comment/dialogue box at the top of this post. Or visit my Contact Me page. You’ll find information  on following me on Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest and more.) 

One thought on “Lex Eats | The Corner Cafe

  1. Pingback: Friday Refine | Food. | Wish and Whimsy

Leave a Reply

