Food Challenge | Salsa Lime Tofu Recipe.

Happy Sunday to all! I hope you have a restful and relaxing day ahead of you. I’m excited to share a new recipe today, so if you are looking to try something new for dinner this week, this delicious and nutritious dinner recipe might be just the thing for you! But before I get into dinner, let me show you what I’m enjoying right now for Sunday breakfast:

I know what you’re thinking, “where’s your typical egg white omelet?” Frankly, I woke up with a couple of things on my mind: banana bread oatmeal (Quaker Weight Control) and peanut butter (Krema simply the best). I like my oatmeal on the dry side because I think it tastes like you’re eating a cookie. Strange, right? I also had vanilla greek yogurt for some protein. (I took frozen blueberries, no sugar added, heated them in the microwave for a few seconds and put the yogurt on top. The warm and cold created a delicious morning treat!) I also opted for no coffee now because there will be some available when I go to church in just a bit. I didn’t want have caffeine overload and be jittery during service.

Without further delay, I’m really pumped to share with a new recipe created by yours truly. Here’s a sneak peek:

Food Challenge: I decided to challenge myself to create a new recipe using an ingredient I was intimidated by…Tofu. Because it receives mix reviews (some people love it, some people can’t stand it) I was determined to make a healthy recipe. I consider myself 99.9% vegetarian, so I’m always looking to up my daily intake of protein. I’ve been told that Tofu is an excellent way to do that. While I’ve, on limited occasions, had tofu at restaurants, I wasn’t sure I could use it in a recipe at home. That’s why I’ve never purchased it at the grocery until now. I was amazed to find that the tofu I purchased was pretty inexpensive.

The full recipe is at the bottom of this post, but I first wanted to walk you through my first tofu cooking experience. I have read that tofu is fairly bland on its own but will take on the flavors you pair with it. I decided to create my own simple marinade. I took the photo below to give you a visual ingredient guide, but since I was creating a marinade from scratch, I added an additional ingredient not photographed: a bit of Vidalia onions.

It's a simple yet tasty marinade, sans the Vidalia onion.

For fellow tofu chef newbies, you first drain the water from the tofu block. Then cut the block of tofu in shapes/pieces and sizes you want. I placed these pieces in a Tupperware container so I could marinade them after I created the mix.

Simple marinade consisting of medium salsa, spicy mustard, vidalia onion, dried sweet basil and limeI

I covered the tofu with this marinade and left it in the fridge for a couple of hours to soak up the flavors. I prepped a baking sheet for the oven and placed the tofu pieces on a lightly greased sheet. I cooked the tofu at 375 for 40 minutes. This marinade really made my apartment smell delicious and I was ready to eat it when it came out of the oven.

I decided to plate the tofu with some simple steamed vegetables: cauliflower and carrots. This really turned out to be a delicious dinner. It was just enough without making me feel too full. It left me with plenty of leftovers. I think that this would be great cut up and tossed in a green salad, in a breakfast scramble, or in a sandwich/pita. I’m realizing that the options for tofu really are endless.

Before I share the recipe I created I wanted to share some after thoughts. Now that I’ve created a basic recipe to use for the future, there are a few things I’d add to this recipe. First, I’d add some diced Roma tomatoes. Maybe this is because I love Roma tomatoes, but I think they’re flavor could add a lot to the recipe. Second, I’d add a dark green like Kale or Spinach for some texture and to add some green to the plate. And finally, I’d bake it for another 10 or so minutes to make the edges more crisp. Other than that, I truly think that this was a tofu success and I’m already looking forward to stepping up my tofu game next time. As promised, here’s my full recipe with the nutrition breakdown:

Salsa Lime Tofu
Makes 6 slices

Ingredients:

1 package of firm tofu
5 tablespoons of medium salsa
2 teaspoons of spicy brown mustard
1 lime
1/8 cup of  Vidalia onion
1 teaspoon dried ground basil
Cooking Spray

Drain block of tofu. Slice block into 6 pieces. Mix marinade ingredients and pour over tofu slices. Marinate for at least 1 hour, longer for stronger flavor. Preheat oven to 375. Prepare baking sheet with canola oil spray. Place slices on baking sheet and cook for about an hour. Enjoy warm!

Nutrition Information Per Slice:
Calories: 122, Total Fat: 5.8g, Sat. Fat .7g, Cholest. 0mg, Sodium 284.1mg, Carb. 8.3g, Fiber 3.5g, Sugars 1.9g, Protein 10g.
 

I had a great time challenging myself in the kitchen yesterday. I’m looking forward to incorporating more tofu in my everyday diet. I’m strongly considering making healthy, fun food challenges like this part of my “food goals” as I continue refining my Fitness, Food, Love and Finance goals.

QUESTIONS OF THE DAY:
Do you like Tofu? Do you have a favorite tofu recipe? Please share!

(LEAVE A COMMENT: I’d love to hear from you! To comment click on the comment/dialogue box at the top of this post. Or visit my Contact Me page. You’ll find information  on following me on Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest and more.) 

5 thoughts on “Food Challenge | Salsa Lime Tofu Recipe.

  1. Pingback: Friday Refine | Food. | Wish and Whimsy

  2. Pingback: Health & Fitness Grade = A. | Wish and Whimsy

  3. Pingback: Health & Fitness Grade = A. @ Wish & Whimsy

Leave a Reply

