Sweet Basil & A Healthy Tuna Salad.

Before I get into today’s thoughts, let me share with you what I’m thoroughly enjoying for breakfast right now:

This is a real winner on a chilly morning like today.

Breakfast includes Maple Brown Sugar & Pecan Oatmeal with Pumpkin Pie Spice and Cinnamon (an excellent pantry staple item), Vanilla Greek yogurt with a dash of Cinnamon, and amazingly smooth Chocolate Truffle Coffee.

On a side note, the Pumpkin Pie Protein Smoothie that I enjoyed for yesterday’s breakfast was delicious. It was a bit sweet, but it tasted so much like dessert. It was thick and filling. I couldn’t finish it all. It also kept me full of energy all morning long.

How did you spend your Earth Day 2012?

I had grand plans for a nice picnic in the lawn, with the sunshine on my shoulders and a good book in hand. Didn’t happen. WAY too cold for me. So instead, after church I went to the grocery to restock my fridge for the week. On my way home, stopped by this cute little nursery called Sunshine Growers to pick up a Sweet Basil plant so I can have fresh herbs when I cook. The gentleman there was very nice, helping me pick out just the right plant and offering growing tips.

Do you see all of those UK flags? GO CATS!!!

On my way home, I put the small basil plant in my car’s cup holder next to my coffee cup for safe transportation.

Basil Car Seat

A car seat for my new basil plant. This herb made my car smell amazing.

Reusing a planter I had on hand, I quickly potted my new Sweet Basil plant and it’s now enjoying some sunlight in my sun room.  That’s one way to celebrate Earth Day 2012, right? One thing I love about Basil is that it’s truly a great plant for those of us who have apartments. They don’t need to be outside. Just simply some sunlight and water.

I can't get enough of this beauty.

Last night I played around in the kitchen and came up with a delicious and nutritious Tuna Salad recipe. It was SO good. It made 5 servings so I’ll be having this for lunch throughout the week. How about I share my recipe with you?

Tuna Salad – Makes 5, 4 oz servings

Ingredients:
2 cans of chunk light tuna
1/2 cup Fage 0% PLAIN Greek Yogurt
1/4 cup cucumber slices
1/4 cup Vidalia onion
2 hard-boiled eggs
1 tsp dried dill
1/2 tsp black pepper

Mix all together and refrigerate. Even more flavorful the next day. I added this to a whole wheat pita pocket and topped with 3 slices of Roma tomatoes. The Nutrition Information below is for the Tuna Salad only, per 4oz serving.

Nutrition Information: Calories: 89, Total Fat: 2.6g, Sat. Fat .7, Cholest.92.8mg, Sodium 178.4mg, Carb. 2.3g, Fiber .2g, Sugars 1.6g, Protein 13.9g.

I’m excited to let you know that I  am having a guest post on the blog tomorrow. For all you single ladies out there, he’s really cute and a real gentleman. (I can plug him because I’m his sister.)
Some exciting news, my Green Monster Smoothie was featured on TUiN as a Dinner Idea. Thanks for the feature, TUiN!

Wishing you all the best. Katie

QUESTION OF THE DAY:
How did you celebrate Earth Day 2012? 

(LEAVE A COMMENT: I’d love to hear from you! To comment click on the comment/dialogue box at the top of this post. Or visit my Contact Me page. You’ll find information  on following me on TwitterPinterest and more.) 

12 thoughts on “Sweet Basil & A Healthy Tuna Salad.

  1. I’ve been loving tuna and egg salad these days! I’ve been mashing a 1/4 avocado + 1 T of mayo, but I need to try it with the Greek yogurt. Hope you are having a lovely start to the week!

  2. That tuna salad recipe sounds yummy!! Might have to try it with some of my plain Chobani in the fridge 🙂 … and I LOVE basil plants. I have one on my kitchen table right now… debating whether or not to plant it in the outside veggie garden.

    • I think we share a love for Chobani! Seriously though, this is a really great recipe. I’ll be enjoying it again for lunch today at the office. Let me know what you think whenever you do make it.

  3. Pingback: Refreshing Smoothie and Healthy Munchies. | Wish and Whimsy

  4. Pingback: Tofu Take 2, AM Workouts & Table Sitting. | Wish and Whimsy

  5. Pingback: Rosemary & Ab Work. | Wish and Whimsy

  6. Pingback: Friday Refine | Food. | Wish and Whimsy

  7. Pingback: Leftovers = Easy Dinner. | Wish and Whimsy

  8. Pingback: Grocery Love. | Wish and Whimsy

  9. I think this is among the most vital information for me.

    And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark on few general things, The website style is ideal, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

Leave a Reply

