Addressing Dressings & A New Recipe

Yesterday’s post was a popular one. I’ve never had so much traffic to my blog in one day. It’s good to know what interests you, my reader. And thanks for all of the great discussion which I’ll dig into in just a bit. But first, here’s a glimpse at what I’m enjoying for breakfast and it’s a new recipe!

A look inside the blender...what could it be?

I know it’s not pumpkin season, but that didn’t stop my pumpkin pie craving I had this morning. Luckily I had some canned pumpkin in my pantry. To make this Pumpkin Pie Protein Smoothie you’ll need the following ingredients:

Only a few ingredients needed for this sweet smoothie!

  • 1/3 c. canned pumpkin
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1/2 of a frozen banana
  • 1/2 c. vanilla soy milk
  • 1.5 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
  • 6-8 ice cubes
Blend together and then top with a sprinkle of cinnamon.

Pumpkin Pie Protein Smoothie

Nutrition Information:
Calories: 271, Total Fat: 3.6g, Sat. Fat 1.2g, Cholest. 50mg, Sodium 125.3mg, Carb. 30.8g, Fiber 7g, Sugars 14.7g, Protein 31.2g.

Let’s discuss yesterday’s post. Someone brought up the point that they couldn’t believe I’d eat salad simply plain. They raised a valid point that some dressings do contain healthy fats and oils our body needs. And yes, I agree completely. I wasn’t avoiding dressing on my salad because I think dressings are bad for you. When I make salads at home, one of my favorite dressings is salsa. It’s a low-calorie dressing alternative (between 10-15 calories per serving), plus the tomatoes, onions and peppers add a nice, nutritious flavor to the salad. The reason I skipped the dressing at the buffet was because I had no idea what ingredients were in the dressings offered. There seemed to be a cream based and a vinaigrette based dressing.

Without seeing the ingredient list myself, I wasn’t sure how much sodium, fat and sugar might be in it. I knew I wanted to save my calories for foods I though would be worth it, so I decided to skip the dressing this time. I know that not everyone enjoys plain field greens, but I’m the odd women out and actually do enjoy the flavor of the greens and vegetables in their natural state. I hope that helps clarify that decision from my point of view.

Today is Earth Day.  I know it’s not much, but to celebrate this day, I’m planning on picnicking. I think it’ll be just a picnic for one today. I love the idea of picnics. I can’t believe I’ve never had a picnic date before. It’s on list of things to do. More specifically, “Take a midnight picnic with the one I love” is written on my bucket list. I sound like such a romantic. A girl can dream…

I’m off to church and then to the grocery to restock my fridge for a week’s worth of healthy meals.

Wishing you the best. katie

QUESTIONS OF THE DAY:
What’s your favorite salad dressing or dressing alternative?
How are you celebrating Earth Day? (For inspiration, here’s a list of ideas.)
What are some things on your bucket list?

(LEAVE A COMMENT: I’d love to hear from you! Leave a reply here or visit my Contact Me page. You’ll find information on following me on TwitterPinterest and more.) 

3 thoughts on “Addressing Dressings & A New Recipe

  1. I never thought of using salsa as dressing. Sounds like a great idea. I have been making my own. I try hard as possible to stay away from anything but olive and coconut oil. I made my own and its so good! Takes a couple days of sitting for the seasonings to open up but its so worth it.

    I also love the pumpkin pie protien smoothie! I dont use protien though….looks like i should get some just to make this.

  2. Hi Whitney!
    Yes, I use Salsa all the time as a healthy alternative. I also use lemon juice. Do you have a recipe for your dressing? I’d love to give it a try.

    The Pumpkin Pie Protein Smoothie was a real treat. It was definitely like a dessert for breakfast and I’ll tell you this, is was ultra filling. I couldn’t finish it all which is unheard of for this smoothie loving girl.
    Wishing you the best. katie

  3. I’m going to make the pumpkin pie smoothie in the morning, except I don’t use protein powder in my smoothies so I guess I’m going to try it with my usual plain greek yogurt. I can’t wait! I just so happened to notice a can of pumpkin pie filling at the store and this recipe popped back into my head! My daughter thinks I’m getting a little too excited about it. 😛
    My favorite dressing is for low cal is fat free Italian. My favorite sweet, lite dressing is Kens lite Raspberry Walnut Vinaigrette. Yum! But like you, I actually like the veggies as they are.
    On my bucket list: see the northern lights, have an extended vacation in Hawaii. I know there more, but they’re not coming to mind. I should probably right them down.
    Thanks for the recipe idea!

Leave a Reply

