An Early Bird Wishing to be a Night Owl.

I’m 25. I go to bed early. I get up early. This isn’t right. Again, I’m 25. I should be up late and sleeping in to the last-minute before bolting off to work in effort to not be late. That’s what normal 25-year olds do, right?

For some reason, this used to bother me. I tried pushing myself to stay up later only to find I didn’t get a good night’s rest and didn’t feel “myself” the next day. I just figured since that’s what “normal” people my age did, I had to do that as well. Boy was I wrong and I’m glad I corrected that thought. I realized that no one has a normal body and we all need to listen to our individual needs, not doing what everyone else seems to be doing.

When I began listening to my body’s needs, my life drastically changed course toward being a healthier me. And I love the refreshing, renewed me that I am becoming. I realized that the perfect amount of sleep is right at 7.5 hours. If I sleep more than 8 hours, I’m groggy all day. If I sleep less than 7 hours, I’m grumpy all day. Who wants to be groggy or grumpy?

I get up early every morning around 5:30 AM. I consider the early morning hours “me time” where I can get prepared for the day ahead. I can blog, cook a healthy and balanced breakfast, do some house work (because I believe having an organized, well-kept home creates a peaceful and healthy environment), watch the news and take my time dressing for work. By the time I arrive at work, I’ve already been up for a good amount of time. I’m focused and ready to tackle (most) projects that come my way.

One reason I prep my omelet ingredients at night is to allow the flavors of the vegetables and herbs to mix together overnight, creating a mouth-watering omelet.

Realizing that I’m most productive in the mornings has helped me prioritize my time and produce better work because I’ll tackle tough projects at the time I’m most focused. Sometimes I workout in the mornings and I find my performance to be top-notch at that time. (Most of the time I workout midday to give me an energy boost needed to make it through the second half of my day.)

In the evenings, about an hour before I go to bed, I turn off the television, prep the fixings for balanced my morning meal (you know, my morning omelet) and fix a lunch to take to work the next day. This schedule allows me to slow down at night and I’ll fall asleep faster when I finally hit the sheets.

I’m 25. I go to bed early. I get up early. And I’m okay with that. So long status quo.

Now it’s time for me to start getting ready for the day at the office. On a side note, I’m really excited because I’m getting new kitchen and bathroom floors installed in my apartment today. I can’t wait to see the changes!

Here’s what last night’s prep helped me cook this morning. Simply an egg white, kale and veggie scramble:

Wishing you all the best. katie

QUESTIONS OF THE DAY

Are you an Early Bird or a Night Owl? More productive in the morning or night?

What is the perfect amount of sleep time for you? How do you think sleep plays a role in living a healthy life?

5 thoughts on “An Early Bird Wishing to be a Night Owl.

  1. I’m a night owl! But maybe that’s because I go to bed so late that nighttime is the only time I’m active! Who knows, I’m sure that listening to my body more on sleeping patterns would benefit me.

  2. I go to bed sorta late, and wake up early. I dont think you should stay up later because of age however. There is way more to be accomplished in the day!!
    Also your blog layout is super cute and fresh and clean. I like it!

  3. Pingback: Smoothies & Dinner Parties. | Wish and Whimsy

Leave a Reply

