Healthy Fridge | One Week, One Person.

I was glad to arrive home yesterday evening after a long, but absolutely fantastic weekend. After a full day at the office and a much-needed trip to the grocery (remember this empty fridge?), I basically got a total body workout in from the multiple trips unloading my groceries and luggage from my car up and down the flights of stairs. I was pretty wiped out. No matter how relaxing my weekends away are, the driving can get to you because you pack so much driving in a short amount of time.

There was so much to catch up on when I got home, so I knew I needed a protein, energy packed dinner. I bet you can’t guess what I had for dinner. Here’s a clue: it was green, it was delicious and it was gone in 60 seconds. My Green Monster Smoothie!

After downing the smoothie, I did a very deep cleaning of my fridge before restocking with the groceries I purchased. I don’t like to overstock the fridge. When I grocery shop, I generally stick to the perimeter of the store where I find fresh produce. By not shopping the inner aisles, I am avoiding the all too tempting cookie and baking aisles. The only times I venture away from the edge of the grocery is when I need to purchase my stock  items like oatmeal, tuna and frozen vegetables.

As I talked about in yesterday’s post, I go visit the grocery once a week, usually on Sunday’s except when I travel. This helps me focus on healthy choices for each week ahead. Plus, I stick to a pretty tight grocery budget and sticking to staple items keeps me from spending frivolously on things that I don’t need and things that I know aren’t healthy.

Here’s a peek inside what my typical fridge looks like. You may think it’s still a little bare, but since I just have to make meals for simply one, aka me, this is plenty.

You’ll notice:

  • I LOVE eggs. I really do have an omelet almost every. single. day. There are vegetables for my omelet like Roma tomatoes, Vidalia onions, organic spinach, tuna
  • Greek Yogurt. I can’t say enough about it. I have several different varieties in fridge this week. I’ve decided to figure out my favorite brand/flavor and review them for you. Stay tuned…
  • Krema Creamy Peanut Butter. Seriously, this is my favorite peanut butter out there. (I am not getting paid or was given anything to say that.) I particularly like this peanut butter because of its nutrition facts: the only ingredient is peanuts. There is no added salt, sugar or hydrogenated oils. This is the peanut butter I use in my smoothies.
  • I keep some fresh fruit to add in my oatmeal, enjoy in fresh salads, or try in smoothies.
  • A random Subway sandwich. I’m definitely a stay at home and cook your own food kind of girl, but I am impressed with Subway’s choices. Have you read any of the Eat This, Not That books? They always rate Subway as an “A” restaurant. I took advantage of Subway’s  April BOGO promotion yesterday when traveling back. I’m always one for a delicious, nutritious meal. This one is basically a 6 inch Veggie Delight, no cheese/dressings, and with added an egg white patty for protein. It’s on wheat bread.
  • What you can’t see: In my crisper drawer, you’ll find a BIG bunch of kale and A couple bunches of organic spinach.

Of course there are other items, but that’s the highlight reel of my typical, healthy fridge.

You may be interested to know that I recently added a “Contact Me” page at top of this website. You can follow me on Twitter where I like to post photos, follow me on Pinterest where I pin health and fitness interests, or you can email me with questions, interests, discussions, ideas, etc. I love to hear from you!

Well, I’ve got to hurry on off of here and work on a little side project I’m working on for The Registry, a lovely bridal registry located in Historic Franklin, Tennessee. Then I’m off to my “real job” at the office.

Wishing you all the best. katie

QUESTION OF THE DAY:

What are typical items in your fridge? Give me the “highlight reel” of your fridge.

2 thoughts on “Healthy Fridge | One Week, One Person.

  1. Pingback: Addressing Dressings & a New Recipe | Wish and Whimsy

  2. Pingback: Easy Mexican Salsa Chicken Recipe & Meal Planning. | Wish and Whimsy

Leave a Reply

