The Green Monster.

No, we’re not talking baseball today, though I’m thrilled baseball season is upon us! (In college I had the opportunity of a lifetime to intern at a baseball park in media relations, production and marketing. It. Was. Awesome!)

The Green Monster I’m referring to today is my most favorite, most delicious, most coveted recipe ever. And it’s a smoothie. A smoothie sooo good I seriously crave it every single day. It’s super filling and often times I use it in place of a “meal”. And it’s yummy…like a dessert for dinner (or lunch or breakfast).

I don’t eat much meat. I’m basically 99.9% vegetarian, so I often lack protein. This Green Monster smoothie provides just the protein punch I need.
Without further adieu, here’s my recipe. Please note that while this is green and looks like something out of Ghost Busters, it’s AMAZING.

Ingredients:
2oz Greek Yogurt (I prefer Fage 0%)
½ Serving Chocolate Protein Powder (I prefer Body Fortress)
⅔C Vanilla Soy Milk (I prefer Silk, Light)
1T Peanut Butter ( I LOVE Krema PB, it’s only made of peanuts)
1 Handful Spinach (I use organic…I try not to buy anything on the “Dirty Dozen” list)
½ Frozen Banana
6 Ice Cubes
½ tsp Xanthan Gum (for thickening)

Blend until bright green! I garnish with Cinnamon and Pumpkin Pie Spice, but that’s just my preference.

Ciao for now!

Nutrition Information:
Calories: 359, Total Fat: 12.1g, Sat. Fat 2g, Cholest. 25mg, Sodium 211.4mg, Carb. 37.1g, Fiber 6.9, Sugars 20.4g, Protein 30g.

One thought on “The Green Monster.

  1. Pingback: Lex Eats | The Corner Cafe | Wish and Whimsy

Leave a Reply

